Tag Archives: Pitch King

Guthrie of Cookies & Cream Named Pitch King for Fourth Time in Career

4 Sep


The Pitch King Award is given to the pitcher who is most effective on the mound during the regular season, and Guthrie has dominated the award since the EWL was founded in 2011. Of the six EWL seasons, Guthrie has now been named the Pitch King four times, including the 2011, 2012, 2013, and 2016 seasons.

Guthrie, who holds a vast majority of the EWL single-season and career pitching records, had another dominant season the mound. He led the league in wins, opponent batting average, and complete games, and he finished second in ERA, WHIP, and innings pitched. He finished with an ERA under 4.00 for the third time in his career, won seven games for the fourth time, and finished with a win % over .700 for the fourth time in his career.

The only other player to earn the Pitch King Award in EWL history is, Reilly, of Questionable Outfit, who won the award in 2014 and 2015. Guthrie finished fourth and second in Pitch King voting those years.

Guthrie of the Caucasians Wins Second Consecutive EWL Pitch King Award

2 Aug
2012 EWL Pitch King Mark Guthrie

2012 EWL Pitch King Mark Guthrie

For the second consecutive season Guthrie of the Caucasians has been voted the Pitch King as the best pitcher in the EWL. Guthrie ran away with the voting and was the clear choice after another great season on the mound for the Caucasians.

In a year in which offense ruled in the EWL, Guthrie continued to rack up wins on the mound and keep the Caucasians in games with his signature Claw Ball. He added another pitch to his arsenal in 2012, the lob ball, which consistently fooled hitters. His 7 wins was 3 more than any other pitcher in the league, and his 7-3 record was nearly identical to his 7-1 mark from 2011. He threw 10 complete games, nearly double that of any other pitcher in the league. Despite leading the league in innings pitched, he finished in the top 3 in ERA (2nd), hits allowed (3rd), opponent batting average (2nd by .02), and WHIP (2nd). His statistics increased from his 2011 Pitch King campaign, but all pitchers’ numbers increased due to increased offensive production. His 14 career wins rank him first all-time in EWL history. Guthrie is the first player in league history to repeat as an EWL Award winner.

Guthrie’s previous awards include 2011 EWL Pitch King and he was a member of the 2011 All-EWL team.

Alec, of the Ham Slams, finished second in voting and was a bright new star on the mound in the EWL. After struggling early, he developed a series of pitches with incredible movement that made him increasingly more effective throughout the season. He had little run support, but led the league in ERA, WHIP, K/9 and opposing batting average.

Les, Guthrie’s rotation mate for the Caucasians, finished third in voting and was the only other legitimate candidate for the award. Les’s sample size was likely too small to garner enough votes, but he was dominant in his limited time on the mound. He went 4-1 and his ERA of 3.93 was the lowest among pitchers with 5 or more appearances by nearly 1.5 runs.

2011 EWL Season-Ending Awards Presented

6 Aug

The winners of the EWL season-ending awards were presented plaques during the first round playoffs. The awards were voted on by all EWL players who played at least 60% of the league games and the commissioner, and were presented by the commissioner in front of the league. The winners are pictured below.

Ron, manager of 4 out of 5 Dentists, is presented the 2011 EWL Manager of the Year Award

Luke, of Pumice on Slow!, shows off his 2011 EWL Field Master Award as one of the four best defensive players in the league

Morrison, of the Caucasian Vaginas, displays his 2011 EWL Field Master Award and his 2011 All-EWL Team Award

Guthrie, of the Caucasian Vaginas, holds his 2011 All-EWL Team Award and his 2011 Pitch King Award, awarded to the best pitcher during the 2011 EWL season

Blose, of the Fish Sticks, dressed appropriately, shows off his 2011 All-EWL Team Award and his 2011 EWL Wiffler of the Year Award, presented to the most valuable player

The 2011 All-EWL Team; Blose and Joey of the Fish Sticks, and Guthrie and Morrison of the Caucasian Vaginas

(Not pictured: Vassallo, of the Fish Sticks, was a winner of the 2011 EWL Field Master Award, but was not photographed with his plaque)